Blu-ray Release: Underworld Trilogy: Essential Collection

Release Date: Dec. 20, 2011
Price: Blu-ray $45.99
Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment

Underworld movie scene

Kate Beckinsale vamps it up as Selene in the Underworld series.

Underworld Trilogy: The Essential Collection is a four-disc Blu-ray set that contains the three action-horror films that comprise the Underworld franchise — Underworld (2003), Underworld: Evolution (2006) and Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009) — which delivers the epic tale of the eternal war between vampires and werewolves.

The set also includes two tickets to see Kate Beckinsale’s (Everybody’s Fine) return to the franchise (she starred in the series’ first two films) in the fourth installment, Underworld: Awakening, which opens in theaters in January 2012.

The exclusive three-part anime series Underworld: Endless War is also part of the collection.

The three titles in The Essential Trilogy have all been previously released on high-definition Blu-ray, both individually and packaged together as a set. All the bonus materials that were featured on the earlier editions are also included on the new one.

What distinguishes this Blu-ray collection from the others are the Underworld: Endless War anime series and the theater tickets.

Here’s a breakdown of all the bonus features contained within:

Bonus features on Underworld:

  • Commentary with director Len Wiseman, Kate Beckinsale and Scott Speedman
  • Outtakes
  • Featurettes:
    • Fang vs.Fiction
    • The Making of Underworld
    • The Visual Effects of Underworld
    • Creature Effects
    • Stunts
    • Designing Underworld
    • The Look of Underworld
    • Sights and Sounds
  • Music video by Finch – “Worms of the Earth”
  • Storyboard comparison

Bonus features on Underworld: Evolution:

  • Filmmakers’ commentary
  • Featurettes:
    • Bloodlines: From Script to Screen
    • The Hybrid Theory
    • Making Monsters Roar
    • The War Rages On
    • Building a Saga
    • Music and Mayhem
  • Music video “Her Portrait In Black” by Atreyu

Bonus features on Underworld: Rise of the Lycans:

  • Filmmaker commentary
  • Behind the Castle Walls: Picture-in-Picture
  • Lycanthropes Around the World Interactive Map
  • Featurettes:

o Underworld: Rise of the Lycans – From Script to Screen
o The Origin of the Feud
o Re-Creating the Dark Ages: The Look of Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

  • Music video: “Deathclub (Wes Borland/Renholder Remix)” By William Control

Okay, now here’s the trailer for the upcoming Underworld: Awakening:


Buy or Rent Underworld Trilogy: Essential Collection
Amazon graphicBlu-ray DVD Empire graphicBlu-ray Movies Unlimited graphicBlu-ray Netflix graphic

About Laurence

Founder and editor Laurence Lerman saw Alfred Hitchcock’s North by Northwest when he was 13 years old and that’s all it took. He has been writing about film and video for more than a quarter of a century for magazines, anthologies, websites and most recently, Video Business magazine, where he served as the Reviews Editor for 15 years.