Blu-ray, DVD Release: Styx: Grand Illusion/Pieces of Eight Live

Blu-ray & DVD Release Date: Jan. 31, 2012
Price: DVD $14.98, Blu-ray $19.98, DVD/2 CD Combo $29.98
Studio: Eagle Rock

Styx: The Grand Illusion/Pieces Of Eight Live scene

Styx guitarist Tommy Shaw sails away in The Grand Illusion/Pieces Of Eight Live.

Styx: The Grand Illusion/Pieces of Eight Live finds the seminal 1970s rock band serving up complete live renditions of two of their most popular albums, 1977’s The Grand Illusion and 1978’s Pieces of Eight. The show was recorded in November 2010 at the Orpheum Theater in Memphis, Tenn.

The 20-song, two-hour-plus performance of the pair of multi-platinum albums is recorded in DTS-HD Master Audio, Dolby Digital 5.1, and LPCM Stereo.

Included as a bonus on the DVD and Blu-ray is the featurette “Putting on the Show,” which looks at the work that went into creating the live concert event.

In addition to the DVD and Blu-ray, Eagle Rock is issuing a DVD/2 CD combo, featuring a two-disc audio version of the concert.

Here’s the track listing for the show:

1. Intro/1978
2. The Grand Illusion
3. Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)
4. Superstars
5. Come Sail Away
6. Miss America
7. Man in the Wilderness
8. Castle Walls
9. The Grand Finale
10. Great White Hope
11. I’m Okay
12. Sing For the Day
13. The Message
14. Lords of the Ring
15. Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
16. Queen of Spades
17. Renegade
18. Keyboard Interlude
19. Pieces of Eight
20. Aku-Aku


Buy or Rent Styx: Grand Illusion/Pieces of Eight Live
Amazon graphic
DVD | Blu-ray |
DVD/2 CD Combo
DVD Empire graphicDVD | Blu-ray |
DVD/2 CD Combo
Movies Unlimited graphicDVD | Blu-ray Netflix graphic

About Laurence

Founder and editor Laurence Lerman saw Alfred Hitchcock’s North by Northwest when he was 13 years old and that’s all it took. He has been writing about film and video for more than a quarter of a century for magazines, anthologies, websites and most recently, Video Business magazine, where he served as the Reviews Editor for 15 years.