DVD Release: I’ll Never Forget You: The Last 72 Hours of Lynyrd Skynyrd

DVD Release Date: Dec. 13, 2019
Price: DVD $13.99
Studio: MVD Visual

The new documentary I’ll Never Forget You: The Last 72 Hours of Lynyrd Skynyrd chronicles exactly what it’s title implies…

At the height of their fame in 1977, southern rock outfit Lynyrd Skynyrd, was struck with tragedy — a plane crash that killed the band’s founder and lead singer Ronnie Van Zant along with guitarist Steve Gaines, backup singer Cassie Gaines, assistant road manager Dean Kilpatrick, pilot Walter McCreary and co-pilot William Gray. I’ll Never Forget You zeroes in on the story of three survivors: security guard Gene Odom, lead backup singer Leslie Hawkins, and guitar tech Craig Reed. These three give their firsthand accounts of the wild times of the band, the 72 hours leading to the crash, the harrowing crash itself and its aftermath.

Based on Odom’s book, I’ll Never Forget You, the film features behind-the-scenes film footage of life with the band before the crash, reenactments illustrating key dramatic scenes and CG animations–including a simulation of the plane crash that matches the NTSB report.

Bonus material include the following:
-Gene’s fishing advice
-40th Anniversary event in Jacksonville, FL
-Tennessee Iron Cold Dark Mississippi Night Music video

Buy or Rent I’ll Never Forget You: The Last 72 Hours of Lynyrd Skynyrd
on DVD

About Laurence

Founder and editor Laurence Lerman saw Alfred Hitchcock’s North by Northwest when he was 13 years old and that’s all it took. He has been writing about film and video for more than a quarter of a century for magazines, anthologies, websites and most recently, Video Business magazine, where he served as the Reviews Editor for 15 years.